The Prince Edward Island Institute of Agrologists offers annually two awards to individuals whose achievements and service to Agriculture in Prince Edward Island have been outstanding. These awards are:

Recognition Award

Up to two awards may be presented each year for significant contributions to Prince Edward Island agriculture. Past winners have included farmers, government employees, veterinarians, agri-business and other industry participants. An award may also be made jointly to two persons, i.e., a couple or business partners. Membership in the Institute is not required. Nomination can be made by an individual, a group or an association.

Outstanding Agrologist Award

This award is presented to a member of the Institute for outstanding service in the previous 5-10 years of membership in the PEIIA. The nomination can be made by anyone. Nominees must be a member in good standing of the PEIIA.

Rules Governing the Awards

1. An association, group or individual may make nominations.

2. Those making nominations shall hold knowledge of nominations in strict confidence.

3. Nominations must be completed on the form provided by the PEIIA.

4. Nominations and supporting documentation must be received at the PEIIA office by March 15.

5. Unsuccessful nominations may be resubmitted.

6. Recipients of the Outstanding Agrologist Award must hold the designation of P.Ag.(Professional Agrologist) or PPA (Permit to Practice) and must be a member in good standing at the time the award is bestowed.

Past Award Winners

YearRecognition Award Past WinnersOutstanding Agrologists Award Past Winners
2024Doug DawsonChris Jordan
2023Ron MaynardKyra Stiles
2022Joanne DriscollGreg Donald
2021Brenda Simmons
Evan MacDonald
Mette Ching
2019Steve Watts
2018Melis Visser (Posthumously)Earl Pickard
2017Wilfred Kelly (Posthumously)Margaret Butcher
2016Dr. Christine NoronhaElizabeth Maynard
2015Trevor MacDonaldBrian Beaton
2014Cornelius J. SchellenRonda Bellefontaine
2013Ray Keenan
2012Murray MylesGwen Corrigan Vessey
2011Jane Palmer
2010Athol Craswell (Posthumously)Les Halliday
2009Tyler WrightColleen Younie
2008Charles Scranton, Ivan NoonanDon Northcott
2007Andy WalkerKevin Sanderson
2005Dr. John A. MacLeod
2004Shane Murphy
2003Freeman F. Simmons
2001Mette Ching, Alex Dixon
2000Norman Boswall, J. Barry CudmoreKais Deelstra
1999Henry D. Compton, Frank Mutch
1998David A. ScalesDr. Robert Coffin
1997Ernest Mutch
1996Leo P. McIsaacDr. C.B. Willis
1995Lloyd Lockerby
1994Parker & Irene Jewell, Temple Stewart
1993Isabel Campbell, John J. MacDonald
1992Dr. Reginald Thomson
1991R. Elmer MacDonald
1990Elmer G. MacDonald
1989Roy & Eather Dickieson
1988Donald G. Anderson
1987Harold Godfrey, Dr. Tapani Kunelius
1986Sheldon Neill
1985Dr. Gary Morgan, Dr. Melvin Crane
1984Dr. H. Hammond Kelly, Cecil Godfrey
1983Ralph K. Adams, Douglas N. Roloson
1982Bruce MacLaren, Keith Barrett
1981B.B. Jones, Raynall MacNeill
1980Harold and Mary Palmer
1979Sterling Wood, Arthur Vesey
1978Keith LeLacheur, Raymond & Evelyn Vessey
1977Allison Profitt, Alton Rayner
1976Joseph VandenBrent, Glen K. Cotton
1975Donald Allen, George Boswall